Skip to Main Content

Award for Impact on the Teaching and Learning of Mathematics

This award is given annually to a mathematician (or group of mathematicians) who has made significant contributions of lasting value to mathematics education.

Priorities of the award include recognition of:
(a) accomplished mathematicians who have worked directly with pre-college teachers to enhance teachers' impact on mathematics achievement for all students, or
(b) sustainable and replicable contributions by mathematicians to improving the mathematics education of students in the first two years of college.

About this Award

The Award for Impact on the Teaching and Learning of Mathematics was established by the AMS Committee on Education in 2013. The endowment fund that supports the award was established in 2012 by a contribution from Kenneth I. and Mary Lou Gross in honor of their daughters Laura and Karen.

The US$1,000 award is given annually.

Most Recent Award: 2022

Deborah Hughes Hallett, a professor of mathematics at the University of Arizona and an adjunct professor of public policy at the Harvard Kennedy School, will receive the 2022 AMS Award for Impact on the Teaching and Learning of Mathematics. Hughes Hallett's brilliant leadership in the calculus reform movement changed how mathematics is taught across the country and the globe. As a beloved mentor, she inspires generations of math educators. As a tireless advocate for justice, she has shown how mathematics can be used to combat racial profiling, climate change, and gerrymandering.

Award announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Award:  2024

Nomination Period:  March 1-June 30, 2022

Nomination Procedure: 

Letters of nomination may be submitted by one or more individuals. The letter of nomination should describe the significant contributions made by the nominee(s) and provide evidence of the impact these contributions have made on the teaching and learning of mathematics. The letter of nomination should not exceed two pages, and may include supporting documentation not to exceed three additional pages. A brief curriculum vitae for each nominee should also be included. The non-winning nominations will automatically be reconsidered, without further updating, for the awards to be presented over the next two years. 

To nominate a colleague, please complete our online nomination form using the button below.

Nominate a colleague