Skip to Main Content

AMS-SIAM George David Birkhoff Prize

The Birkhoff Prize is awarded for an outstanding contribution to applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense.

About this Prize

The prize was established in 1967 in honor of Professor George David Birkhoff (pictured), with an initial endowment contributed by the Birkhoff family and subsequent additions by others. The American Mathematical Society (AMS) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) award the Birkhoff Prize jointly.

The prize is awarded every three years, and the current prize amount is US$5,000. To be eligible, a nominee must be a member of the American Mathematical Society or of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics in the year in which the nomination is made, and in each of the immediately prior three years (as of July 31 of each year) the nominee must have either been a member of the AMS or a member of SIAM.

Most Recent Prize: 2024

The 2024 AMS-SIAM George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics is awarded to Ronald Coifman of Yale University for his profound impact on pure and applied harmonic analysis, and for the introduction of tools developed from these areas to address modern challenges of data science.

Prize announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2027

Nomination Period:  1 February - 31 May

Nomination Procedure:  Nominations with supporting information should be submitted online.

Nominate a colleague