American Mathematical Society

My Account · My Cart · Customer Services · FAQ  

David P. Robbins Prize

David P. RobbinsThe Robbins Prize is for a paper with the following characteristics:  it shall report on novel research in algebra, combinatorics or discrete mathematics and shall have a significant experimental component; and it shall be on a topic which is broadly accessible and shall provide a simple statement of the problem and clear exposition of the work.

Prize Details
The US$5,000 prize is awarded every three years.

Next Prize
January 2016

Nomination Deadline
June 30, 2015


Most Recent Prize: 2013
Alexander Razborov, of The University of Chicago, was awarded the 2013 Robbins Prize for his paper “On the minimal density of triangles in graphs” (Combinatorics, Probability and Computing 17 (2008), no. 4, 603–618), and for introducing a new powerful method, flag algebras, to solve problems in extremal combinatorics.

About this Prize
This prize was established in 2005 in memory of David P. Robbins by members of his family.  Robbins, who died in 2003, received his Ph.D. in 1970 from MIT.  He was a long-time member of the Institute for Defense Analysis Center for Communications Research and a prolific mathematician whose work (much of it classified) was in discrete mathematics. 

See previous prizes

Photo courtesy of Ken Robbins.