Remote Access Transactions of the American Mathematical Society
Green Open Access

Transactions of the American Mathematical Society

ISSN 1088-6850(online) ISSN 0002-9947(print)



Burghelea-Friedlander-Kappeler's gluing formula for the zeta-determinant and its applications to the adiabatic decompositions of the zeta-determinant and the analytic torsion

Author: Yoonweon Lee
Journal: Trans. Amer. Math. Soc. 355 (2003), 4093-4110
MSC (2000): Primary 58J52, 58J50
Published electronically: June 24, 2003
MathSciNet review: 1990576
Full-text PDF

Abstract | References | Similar Articles | Additional Information

Abstract: The gluing formula of the zeta-determinant of a Laplacian given by Burghelea, Friedlander and Kappeler contains an unknown constant. In this paper we compute this constant to complete the formula under an assumption that the product structure is given near the boundary. As applications of this result, we prove the adiabatic decomposition theorems of the zeta-determinant of a Laplacian with respect to the Dirichlet and Neumann boundary conditions and of the analytic torsion with respect to the absolute and relative boundary conditions.

References [Enhancements On Off] (What's this?)

  • [1] M. F. Atiyah, V. K. Patodi and I. M. Singer, Spectral asymmetry and Riemannian geometry I, Math. Proc. Camb. Phil. Soc. 77 (1975), 43-69. MR 53:1655a
  • [2] B. Booß-Bavnbek, and K.P. Wojciechowski, Elliptic Boundary Problems for Dirac Operators, Birkhäuser, Boston, 1993. MR 94h:58168
  • [3] D. Burghelea, L. Friedlander and T. Kappeler, Mayer-Vietoris type formula for determinants of elliptic differential operators, J. of Funct. Anal. 107 (1992), 34-66. MR 93f:58242
  • [4] D. Burghelea, L. Friedlander , T. Kappeler and P. McDonald, Analytic and Reidemeister torsion for representations in finite type Hilbert modules, Geom. and Funct. Anal. 6 (1996), 751-859. MR 97i:58177
  • [5] S. Cappell, R. Lee and E. Miller, Self-adjoint elliptic operators and manifold decompositions, Part I: Low eigenmodes and stretching, Comm. Pure Appl. Math. 96 (1996), 825-866. MR 97g:58162
  • [6] S. Klimek, K.P. Wojciechowski, Adiabatic cobordism theorems for analytic torsion and $\eta $-invariant, J. of Funct. Anal. 136 (1996), 269-293. MR 97a:58195
  • [7] Y. Lee, Mayer-Vietoris formula for the determinant of a Laplace operator on an even dimensional manifold, Proc. Amer. Math. Soc. 121-6 (1995), 1933-1940. MR 95g:58255
  • [8] Y. Lee, Mayer-Vietoris formula for the determinants of elliptic operators of Laplace-Beltrami type (after Burghelea, Friedlander and Kappeler), Diff. Geom. and Its Appl. 7 (1997), 325-340. MR 99a:58163
  • [9] Y. Lee, Burghelea-Friedlander-Kappeler's gluing formula and the adiabatic decomposition of the zeta-determinant of a Dirac Laplacian, to appear in Manuscripta Math.
  • [10] P. Park and K. Wojciechowski with Appendix by Y. Lee, Adiabatic decomposition of the $\zeta $-determinant of the Dirac Laplacian I. The case of an invertible tangential operator, Comm. in PDE. 27 (2002), 1407-1435.
  • [11] D.B. Ray and I.M. Singer, R-torsion and the Laplacian on Riemannian manifolds, Adv. in Math. 7 (1971), 145-209. MR 45:4447
  • [12] A. Voros, Spectral function, special functions and Selberg zeta function, Comm. Math. Phys. 110 (1987), 439-465. MR 89b:58173

Similar Articles

Retrieve articles in Transactions of the American Mathematical Society with MSC (2000): 58J52, 58J50

Retrieve articles in all journals with MSC (2000): 58J52, 58J50

Additional Information

Yoonweon Lee
Affiliation: Department of Mathematics, Inha University, Inchon, 402-751, Korea

Keywords: Zeta-determinant, gluing formula, Laplacian, Dirichlet (Neumann) boundary condition, absolute (relative) boundary condition, adiabatic decomposition
Received by editor(s): April 15, 2002
Received by editor(s) in revised form: October 10, 2002
Published electronically: June 24, 2003
Additional Notes: The author was partially supported by Korea Research Foundation Grant KRF-2000-015-DP0045
Article copyright: © Copyright 2003 American Mathematical Society

American Mathematical Society