Mathematics Programs that Make a Difference

The Award for Mathematics Programs that Make a Difference was established in 2005 by the AMS's Committee on the Profession to compile and publish a series of profiles of programs that:

  1. aim to bring more persons from underrepresented backgrounds into some portion of the pipeline beginning at the undergraduate level and leading to advanced degrees in mathematics and professional success, or retain them once in the pipeline;
  2. have achieved documentable success in doing so; and
  3. are replicable models.

Preference is given to programs with significant participation by underrepresented minorities.  Note that programs aimed at pre-college students are eligible only if there is a significant component of the program benefiting individuals from underrepresented groups at or beyond the undergraduate level.   

Award Details: Beginning with the 2018 award, one program is selected each year and it receives \$1,000.00 provided by the Mark Green and Kathryn Kert Green Fund for Inclusion and Diversity. The AMS Committee on the Profession selects the recipient.

Next Award: Spring 2019

Nomination Deadline: September 15, 2018

Nomination Procedure: The letter of nomination should describe the specific program being nominated and the achievements that make the program an outstanding success. It should include clear and current evidence of that success. The letter of nomination should not exceed two pages, with supporting documentation not to exceed three more pages. Up to three supporting letters may be included in addition to these five pages. Nomination of the writer's own institution or program is permitted. Non-winning nominations will automatically be reconsidered for the award for the next two years.

Most Recent Award: 2018: The Cougars and Houston Area Math Program (CHAMP) has been chosen to receive the 2018 Mathematics Programs that Make a Difference Award. Read the award citation, announcement and profile of the CHAMP program.

See previous awards

Nominations may be submitted by email or by postal mail to: Mathematics Programs that Make a Difference, c/o Director of Education and Diversity, American Mathematical Society, 201 Charles Street, Providence, RI 02904.

For more information about the nomination process, email or call: 800-321-4267, ext. 4172.

American Mathematical Society