AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Richard Dagobert Brauer


34. Richard Dagobert Brauer (1901-1977)

President 1957-1958

Ph.D. University of Berlin, Germany, 1925

Brauer was born in Berlin. His principal academic appointments were at the University of Toronto (1935-1948--largely as a result of Emmy Noether's recommendation), the University of Michigan (1948-1951) and Harvard University (1951-1971). He received the Society's Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra in 1949. One of the foremost algebraists of the 20th century, Brauer made fundamental contributions to the algebraic theory of simple algebras and to the classification of finite simple groups. the mathematical object known as a "Brauer group" was named after him. He was awarded the U.S. National Medal for Science in 1971. Brauer was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

   For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society