Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
George Daniel Mostow

49. George Daniel Mostow

President 1987–1988

Ph.D. Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1948

Mostow's principal academic appointments have been at Johns Hopkins University from 1952-1961 and at Yale University since 1961. He was awarded the AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research in 1993 for his paper "Strong rigidity of locally symmetric spaces," Annals of Mathematics Studies, number 78, Princeton University Press (1973). Mostow is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

Additional information