Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
Ronald L. Graham

52. Ronald L. Graham

President 1993–1994

Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1962

After receiving his Ph.D. in 1962, Graham spent 37 years at Bell Labs (now AT&T Labs) as a researcher then as chief scientist. During that time he also held visiting positions at Princeton University, Stanford University, the California Institute of Technology, and the University of California, Los Angeles, and was a (part-time) University Professor at Rutgers for 10 years.

He served as president of the Mathematical Association of American from 2003 to 2004. He held the Irwin and Joan Jacobs Chair of Computer and Information Science at the University of California at San Diego. Graham has received many awards, including the AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement in 2003 for being one of the principal architects of the rapid development worldwide of discrete mathematics in recent years.

Graham is a member of many organizations, including the National Academy of Sciences, and is past president of the International Jugglers Association. Graham is a Fellow of the AMS.

Additional information