Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
David A. Vogan, Jr.Photo by Bryce Vickmark

62. David A. Vogan, Jr.

President 2013–2014

Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1976

David Vogan received the B.A. and S.M. degrees from the University of Chicago in 1974, and his Ph.D. from MIT in 1976 under the direction of Bertram Kostant. His thesis was "Lie Algebra Cohomology and the Representations of Semisimple Lie Groups." He continued as a CLE Moore Instructor, and Member of the Institute for Advanced Study, before joining the MIT mathematics faculty in 1979 (where he served as Department Chair 1999-2004). His research interests include group representations and Lie algebras. He is a member of the research group Atlas of Lie groups and representations, which in 2007 computed the character table of the Lie group E8. He was selected by the MIT Department Faculty as the Robert E. Collins Distinguished Scholar in 2007. In 2011, he received the AMS Levi L. Conant Prize for his article, "The Character Table for E8," Notices of the AMS, October 2007, page 1022. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (1996). He has given many distinguished lectures, including a plenary address at the ICM in Berkeley in 1986, and continues to give lectures at conferences and departments around the world, often in developing countries. Vogan is a Fellow of the AMS.

Additional information