Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
Jill PipherPhoto: Nick Dentamaro Brown University

65. Jill Pipher

President 2019–2020

Ph.D. UCLA, 1985

Jill Pipher is currently Vice President for Research and Elisha Benjamin Andrews Professor of Mathematics at Brown University. She was a Dickson Instructor and later assistant professor at the University of Chicago before joining the faculty at Brown in 1989. She was the founding director of the Institute for Computational and Experimental Research in Mathematics (ICERM), a National Science Foundation mathematics institute, from 2010 to 2016.

Pipher's research areas include harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, and lattice-based cryptography. She has published more than 60 papers and co-authored an undergraduate cryptography textbook. Pipher jointly holds four patents related to the NTRU encryption algorithm. She was a co-founder of Ntru Cryptosystems, Inc., now part of Security Innovation, Inc. Pipher's professional honors include an NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship, an NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, and an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship.


Pipher is the third woman to be elected AMS President, following Julia Robinson (1983-1984) and Cathleen Synge Morawetz (1995-1996). She is an inaugural Fellow of the AMS (2012), served as President of the Association for Women in Mathematics from 2011 to 2013, was an Invited Speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Seoul in 2014, and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2015.

Additional information